Home | Sports | Montana | 2011 Big Sky All-Conference team

2011 Big Sky All-Conference team

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

The Big Sky Conference has released its All-Conference team for the 2011 season, and 6 Bobcats and 6 Grizzlies were named to the first team.

Topping the list was Griz linebacker Caleb McSurdy, who was named the Big Sky Conference defensive player of the year. McSurdy led the Griz with 114 tackles, 6.5 tackles for loss, 3.5 sacks, 2 forced fumbles, and an interception. He is Montana's first Big Sky “Defensive Player of the Year” since defensive end Kroy Biermann won the award back in 2007.

“It's a great honor,” says McSurdy, “I've worked really hard to become a better player. I'm not really big on the individual awards, I'm more proud of our team and that we are in the playoffs.”

All Big Sky Conference Football
1st Team Offense
RB-Kirk        MSU
WR-Akpla    MSU
TE-Hardy      UM
T-Opperud   UM
T-Burbank    MSU
G-Terrien     MSU
KR-Sambrano UM

4 Bobcats led by running back Cody Kirk were named to the first team offense; Bo Levi Mitchell from Eastern Washington was the offensive player of the year.

1st Team Defense
DT-Minter          MSU
DT-Waldhauser  UM
LB-Owens         MSU
LB-McSurdy       UM
CB-T.Johnson   UM

3 Grizzlies were named on offense and defense including McSurdy and Trumaine Johnson.

3 local athletes were also honored, Bobcats’ Steven Foster, Brad Daly and Clay Bignell were second team choices. Grizzly Ryan Fetherston and the Cats’ Shaun Sampson were honorable mention.  Griz Head Coach Rob Pflugrad was named coach of the year.

Story by Al Marks, Beartooth NBC.
Copyright ©2011 Beartooth Communications Company. All Rights Reserved.

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:


  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

Griz Football, Montana Grizzlies, Big Sky Conference, Rob Pflugrad, Caleb McSurdy

Rate this article

Powered by Vivvo CMS v4.6