Home | News | Helena | Vigilante Day Parade

Vigilante Day Parade

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

Helena students - current, past and future - gathered down on Last Chance Gulch for the 88th Annual Vigilante Day Parade. If you missed it, don't worry, Beartooth NBC has the highlights.

 Vigilante Parade Award Results 2011


This year’s Vigilante Parade had 109 floats, and freshmen led in class participation. With 34.6 percent of all Helena High and Capital High freshmen participating in the parade, the freshman class won the A.J. Roberts Cup. Sophomores ranked next highest, with 32.1 percent, while juniors and seniors had participation rates of 28.2% and 26.3%, respectively.


For more photographs, visit the Capital and Helena High School websites: http://www.chs.helena.k12.mt.us/ and http://www.helena.k12.mt.us/schools/highscho/helenahi/index.dhtm


Grand Champion—Cromwell Dixon: First to Cross the Continental Divide (in Famous People category)—Sidney Wilhelm, Devin Carpenter, William Reichert, Aaron Rose, Kennedy Smith.


Most Historically Authentic (Accurate)—Stoner’s Lincoln-Helena Transportation—Kelsey Stoner, Libby Desch, Lindsey Dowling. (2011 is the first year for this award, which will have an accompanying monetary prize starting next year.)


American Indian: first—Buffalo Hunting—Kyra Dorvall, Hunter Beto, Katlyn Finafrock, Emily Hultin, Teagan Jendro, Joseph Paulsen-Morgan, Sadra Pilgeram, Quinci Robertson, Brian Sinrud, Savannah Smith; second—Buffalo Jump—Mae Vader, Shelby Branson, Zoe Coate, Amber Ediger, Emily Kittelson, Beca Matthies, Rylee Mathews, Sarah Stewart; third—Daily Activity of Tribal Life—Dutton Sands, Amy Beagles, Cari Eckert, Amanda Stewart, Dayne Vincent.


Historic Helena: first—Green Meadow Country Club (1945)—Dylan Simac, Nate Hinrichs, Zach Hulse, Dylan Kautz, Connor Langel, Marcus Mattioli, Candice Simanton, Sydne Simanton, Sandy Smith, Logan Stahly; second—Flying through the Cathedral—Amber Fredrick, Morgan Callahan, Stephen Chafen, Kaley Gould, Kaylee Keeler, Kaylee O’Brian, Philipp Schubert; third—Mann Gulch Fire—Casey Rose, Martel Ford, Kruze Gadaire, Jacob Grover, Garret Hanson, Kyle Holling, Tony Roberts, Taylor Schultz.


Helena Business: first place —Montana Power—Lane Grove, Chance Sparrow, Ben Sullivan; second place —St. Peter’s Hospital—Ashley Wade, Alex Bostrom, Zach Bragg, Stacia Medvec, Ashlee Platts, Beau Ricks, Marcus Roope, Bailey Spurlock, Lauren Thomas; third place —The Parrot Confectionary—Denver Pratt, Brittany Bangerter, Valerie Chase, Olivia Effertz, Dylan Hills, Kyrie McCullough, Mariah Plummer, Cryslen Riley, Daniela Rosales, Karlee Snell; fourth place —Maddio’s Hairstyling and Cosmetology College—Cassidy Maddio, Daniela Charles, Zoe Erickson, Shig Hibom, Alyssa McCarl, Kaitlin McMahon, Morgan Pippin, Sage Smith, Emily Spindler, Claire Stone, Jenny Stoneking, Julianne Jones.


Famous People, first place—Montana’s Women’s Commemorative Mural—Jessica Baird, Brooke Hartman, Kelsey Rogers, Julia White; second place—Cromwell Dixon: First to Cross the Continental Divide—Kendra Elgen, Casey Carpenter, Kasey Clausen, Brittney Cormier, Jasmine Flygare, Andrik Powell; third place—Fanny Cory—Dalton Thunstrom, Luke Carlson, Gabbi DeMarinis, Lauren Homer, Mariah Johnson, Kory Larsen, Maddie McHugh, Kasi Pimley, Alex Ramirez.


Mining and Transportation, first place —Ferry at Canyon Ferry—Shannon Harris, Laura Fiorita, Laurin Hart, Alicia Norling, Dani Norling, Chrissy Witham; second place—Drumlummon Mine—Caden Sharp, Erik Applin, Kyle Bomar, TJ Bomar, Rachel McIntosh, Ryan Olsen, Colten O’Masters, Alex Pogatchnik, Dani Prebil, Matt Roche, Jon Starkey; third place—Chinese Miners of Helena—Barielle Keltner, Mackenzie Donnelly, Donavan Hilbert, Hattie Lunceford, Zach Ryan, Alex Walden, Austin Young.


Antique Vehicles, first place—1960 Chevy— Cory Allen, James Chambers; second place—Antique Cars and Trucks/Vehicles— Anna Ebert, Sam Schmeltzer; third place—1930 Model A—Stewart Miller, Curtis Anderson.


Pioneer Life, first place—Chevallier Ranch—Jessica Chevallier, Jessica Hamilton, Coleton Huot, Austin Hyndman, Ben Sullivan; second place—Henry Sieben’s Cattle Ranch—Taran Denning, Taylor Amestoy, Madison Therriault, Taelar Therriault, Jordan Umsted, Jacob VanDyke; third place —Fort Harrison—Danile Brassard, Kendra Cawley, Kyle Fisher, Clarissa Matheny, Jordan Ramos.


Story by Ryan Whalen, Beartooth NBC.
Copyright ©2011 Beartooth Communications Company. All Rights Reserved.


Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:


  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

Chelsey Kapphan, Leland Hubbard, Mike Susag, Jenna Blair, Vigilante Day Parade, Helena parade

Rate this article

Powered by Vivvo CMS v4.6